The Taproot Board of Directors is comprised of leaders from both the nonprofit and corporate communities who set our goal of creating and growing a multi-billion dollar pro bono market by 2020.

In keeping with our value of "pragmatic optimism", our Board strives to be exceptional and to set the standard for nonprofit governance. Central to these aspirations are three core traits:

  • Courage  – We have to be bold to set lofty goals while also asking the tough questions and confronting brutal facts. 
  • Contribution – Roughly 20 percent of our budget is generated in partnership between our Board and staff. This starts with 100 percent board personal giving and goes on to include everything from large corporate sponsorship, to in-kind office space donation, to pro bono relationships with leading professional services firms.
  • Transparency  – We include this Governance section on our website to increase our transparency to our stakeholders. You can find here our core policies and audits. This section includes our successes as well as the challenges we have faced, which have ultimately helped us learn and grow to be stronger. 



  • Kellie Krug, Co-Chair — Head of Wholesale Marketing, Wells Fargo
  • Sarah Mankowski, Co-Chair — President, Mindframe Consulting LLC
  • Brad Finkelstein, Secretary & Treasurer, Pro Bono Counsel — Partner, Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati
  • Julian Posada, Executive Committee — Chief Operating & Enterprise Officer, The Resurrection Project
  • Margaret Coady — Executive Director, Corporate Social Responsibility & Coach Foundation, Coach Inc. 
  • Meredith Hahn — Corporate Social Responsibility Consultant
  • Matt Holford — Chief Technology Officer,
  • Patricia Langer — Executive Vice President, Human Resources, NBCUniversal
  • Susan Levitt — Managing Director, Issuer Relations, Kroll Bond Ratings
  • Roberto Orci  Chief Executive Office, Acento Advertising
  • Rebecca Wang — Former Senior Manager, Community Engagement, Hewlett Packard Enterprise



  • Aaron Hurst — Founder, Taproot Foundation, Founder & CEO, Imperative
  • Evan Hochberg — Chief Strategy Officer, United Way Worldwide
  • Caroline Barlerin — Head of Global Volunteering and Pro Bono Services, Hewlett-Packard
  • Sylvia Reynolds — Chief Marketing Officer (ret.), Wells Fargo
  • Steve Kirmse — Managing Director, JP Morgan & Co. Inc. (ret.)
  • Dr. Antoinette La Belle — Senior Fellow & East Coast Director, Encore Fellowship Program
  • Sandra Lamb — President & CEO, Lamb Advisors
  • Tom Eddington — Former Owner, Hewitt Associates
  • Jane Freeman — Independent Trustee, Wells Fargo 



To notify the Board of any concerns, please send a letter to our Co-Chairs:

Kellie Krug and Sarah Mankowski
c/o Taproot Foundation
600 California Street
11th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94108